The Fourth of July in Lakeside

Lakeside Chautauqua’s Fourth of July celebration begins at 10 a.m. with the Children’s Bike Parade in Perry Park. Participants of all ages should arrive early with an already-decorated bike. 

Following the bike parade will be the Fourth of July Float Parade at 10:15 a.m. Both parades will travel east to west on Second Street. Spectators are invited to dress patriotically as part of this Lakeside holiday tradition. The Grand Marshal for the float parade will be Chip Richter, who, along with his family, has coordinated Lakeside’s God Squad program for the past 18 years.

A Fourth of July cookout will take place from 11 a.m.-6 p.m. at the Hotel Lakeside lawn. Meals will include a hamburger, BBQ pork or brat, potato salad, chips and a cookie for $7. Water and pop will be sold for $1.

Central Ohio Brass Band (COBB) will perform from 6-8 p.m. at the Steele Memorial Bandstand (Central Park Gazebo), offering a selection of familiar patriotic tunes. COBB formed in 1989 as the Ohio Collegiate Brass Band with a mission “to promote the Brass Band tradition through excellent artistic and educational performances for musicians and communities.”



For more details, go to

Jul-Aug, Mon-Fri

Wolcott House Tours, Wolcott House, Marblehead

Jul-Aug, Tues-Sat

Daytime Island Hopping Cruise, Jackson St. Pier, Sandusky

Jul 1-Aug 2, Mon-Fri

Marblehead Lighthouse Tour, Marblehead Lighthouse, Marblehead

Jul-Aug, Tuesdays

Tuesday Evening Sunset Cruise, Jackson St. Pier, Sandusky

Jul-Aug Wednesdays and Saturdays at 8 a.m.

Yoga on the Beach, Gem Beach, Port Clinton


Organization is the Key to Success

For as long as I can remember, my grandmother used to say, “Everything has a place and everything goes in its place”. She’s gone now, but those words still echo in my head as if she were saying them to me out loud today.  

Wait a minute; this is a fishing report column. How will being organized help put more fish in the boat? The answer is simple. It won’t. But it will make your time on the water much more enjoyable and stress free. And it will greatly improve your chances of success. 

For example, let’s say you hear them chatting on the marine radio about a lure that is out producing everything else on a particular day. You know you have one on the boat, but can’t remember where you put it. If you have to spend a lot of time searching for that lure, then you’re wasting time that could be spent with baits in the water catching fish, and your stress levels will rise.


PCHS class of 1981 reunion

The Port Clinton High School class of 1981 is holding a class reunion and 50th birthday bash on July 27 at the Harbor Room at the Catawba Island Club, Port Clinton. $25 per person for the dinner. Cocktails are at 6, with a cash bar. Reservations should be made by July 15 with Lori LaCumsky Urban at 419-307-6455.


PCHS class of ’79 “Day at the Bay”

The PCHS Class of '79 is having their annual "Day at the Bay"on Saturday, July 13th. The class members will be taking the 11 a.m. Miller’s ferry to Put-in-Bay and will meet at Frosty's.

A pre-party will be held Friday, July 12th, at Dock's Beach House at 7 p.m. All PCHS classes are invited. For further information, contact Lori Letterhos at 419.635.5782.


A wet month

Yes, it was a very wet June and July is starting out the same way. 

Port Clinton Water Treatment Plant reports that on July 1 we had .46” of rain. The total for the month of June was 7.09”. 

So far in 2013:


Total YTD          17.42”


Community calendar July 4-10

Thursday July 4

Squirt Gun Star Spangled Banner Run
WHAT: 5k run/walk
WHEN: 8 a.m. registration, 9 a.m. race
WHERE: Jefferson St. Pavilion, N. Jefferson St.

Children’s Bike Parade
WHEN: 10 a.m.
WHERE: Perry Park, Lakeside
INFO: Participates are to arrive early with an already decorated bike

Fourth of July Float Parade
WHEN: 10:15 a.m.
WHERE: Perry Park, Lakeside
Central Ohio Brass Band Concert in the Park
WHEN: 6 p.m.
WHERE: Perry Park, Lakeside

Laying the Cornerstone of Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial
WHAT: American veterans attending will receive a special commemorative coin
WHEN: 2:15 p.m., followed by parade
WHERE: Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial, Put-In-Bay
INFO: 419-285-2832


Kessler assumes gavel of the Port Clinton Rotary

Photo 8668: New Rotary President Karl Kessler presents plaque of appreciation to Past President Gary Good.

Tuesday evening at 1812 Food and Spirits Karl Kessler was sworn in by District Officer Duane Waite as the 67th president of Port Clinton Rotary. Actually, Kessler is the 66th, as he had served previously as president.


Local business owners support American Red Cross fundraising event

Left to right standing:  Greg Peiffer, WPCR; Mike Bassett, Bassett’s Market; Matt Gottron, Happy Days Boatin; Jim Stouffer, Catawba Island Club; Amanda Staveskie, Moxie Salon & Spa; Joe Perry, Perry Rentals; John Schaffner, The Beacon; Beckett Spreng, Freedom Boat Club; Mike Callahan, Catawba Landing; Pat Reineck, Reineck Dental; Kathy Richmond, Skipper Bud’s, Cindy Amerin and Mary Jane Gibson. Row two: Amy Runge, R. J. Runge Co. Inc; Danis Putzbach and Karen Blizzard. Row one: Eric Paul and Jeff Sondles, Liberty Aviation Museum.  

Local businesses and individuals were recognized recently for their generous major contributions to this year’s American Red Cross of Ottawa County Club Red Gala. Extraordinary prizes and services have been received from community partners. The prizes will be available for auction at the Red Cross Boogie Woogie Bugle Girls of Company Red Gala on July 19.


Riverview Healthcare Campus to host indoor patriotic parade

On Wednesday, July 3rd, at 1 p.m. Riverview HealthCare Campus near Oak Harbor is holding an indoor Patriotic Parade for their residents and the public. All are invited to attend and bring decorated wagons, trikes, strollers, buggies and riding toys.  Adults are encouraged to bring pots, pans and wooden spoons, kazoos or any type of instrument or noisemaker and to dress in any combination of red, white and blue.  Prizes and trophies will be awarded and ice cream will follow for those in the parade.

For further information, call Riverview’s information desk at 419-898-2851 or 419-732-3163 ext. 6075.

Subscribe to this RSS feed