Lakeside Chautauqua announces 2014 Chautauqua Lecture Series themes

Lakeside Chautauqua’s 2014 Chautauqua Lecture Series will offer a wide-range of learning opportunities this summer. 

The first theme of the season, Modern Slavery (June 23 & 24), will explore human trafficking and forced labor in local, national and international contexts. Strategies which can be introduced to stop them will also be discussed.  

The Dead Sea Scrolls: Ancient History, Unexpected Wisdom (July 9 & 10), will examine the history, archeology and content of the Dead Sea Scrolls, as well as their implications for Christian origins. John Kampen, PhD, Eminent Dead Sea Scrolls scholar and Dunn Professor of Biblical Interpretation, Methodist Theological School in Ohio, will lead this four-part series.


Lady Redskins are sectional bowling champions

Port Clinton’s Lady Redskin Bowlers won their first OHSAA Sectional Bowling Championship at Star Lanes at the Harbor Saturday. Port Clinton trailed Huron after two games by seven pins, but went ahead in the third team game, and shot 1052 in six Baker games to earn the Championship. 

Alysia Zoeller led the Lady ‘Skins with 212-182 for a 543 series, second overall for individuals. Reilly Wittman rolled 157-181-166 for 504, Kassidy Mahler 156 for 454, Eryn Binder 151 for 448. Other team members are Samantha Stroupe, Jozlynn Seamon, Katelyn Chapman, and Shelby Radloff. 

“Our girls bowled good overall, but were sort of sloppy during the team games,” said Coach Bob Black. “After the third Baker game (129) we had a one-way discussion and they responded with 193-194-201 to finish. They are very good and talented, all 7of them, and they have to believe in themselves that they have the ability to play at a high level. And, there is lots of room for improvement, and there are no seniors!”


Port Clinton swimmers and diver qualify for state competition

Front row: Emily Shaw (alternate), Allie Schroeder, Emily Zibert, Taylor Steyer, Mckenzie Stine, Cheyenne Meek and Coach Danny Diaz. Back row: Coach Rob Zajac, Zach Barr, Nick Reineck, Shane Meek, Ty Gallogly and Coach Hayley Saneholtz.

Shane Meek, Ty Gallogly, Nick Reineck and Zach Barr qualified for state competition in the 200 free relay.

Cheyenne Meek, Kenzie Stine, Allie Schroeder and Taylor Steyer qualified for state competition in 200 free relay and the 400 free relay.

Cheyenne Meek qualified for state competition in 50 free and 100 free individually. Cheyenne won the 50 freestyle in a district meet record time.

Emily Zibert qualified for state competition in diving.


Vanguard offering free classes

The Vanguard-Sentinel Adult Basic and Literacy Education (ABLE) program has free classes to help adults improve their reading, math, writing or English skills, prepare for the GED test, and get ready for college or an adult certificate training program. Local support is available. 

The GED test has changed in 2014 and Vanguard is prepared to help adult learners receive a high school credential and create a pathway to a better future. 

For more information or to register for orientation, call one of the following Vanguard-Sentinel learning centers. Orientation times are listed for each center. The assessment results will direct the individual’s learning plan. 

Fremont (419-334-6901 ext. 2701 or ext. 2703) 
March 3 & 4 at 9 a.m.
March 3 & 5 at 5 p.m. 

Tiffin (419-448-5084) 
March 5 at 9 a.m. 
March 19 at 5:30 p.m. 

Oak Harbor (419-898-3688 ext. 270) 
March 6 at 5 p.m. 
March 20 at 10 a.m.


Terra State Dean’s List, fall 2013

Students receiving academic honors and named to the Dean’s List at Terra State Community College for the fall semester of 2013 have been announced. These students have met the college requirements for this honor by carrying 12 or more credit hours and achieving a grade point average of at least 3.50.

Ottawa County students on the Terra State Dean’s List for fall, 2013:

Elmore – Floyd Miller, Todd Ream

Graytown – David Lopez, Qiaoping Rohloff, Michelle Ulrich

Gypsum – Britney Lindemann

Marblehead – Taylor Yates

Oak Harbor – Tyler Ellis, Michael Hasselbach, Bryan Hughes, Clark Miller, Aaron Smith, Samantha Wilkins

Port Clinton – Heather Dilly, Jessica Guerra, John Jadwisiak, Victoria Koebel, Ross Meek, Christine Minney, Gabriel Reyna, Cole Trent, Amber Wuersig

Rocky Ridge – Amy Duty

Subscribe to this RSS feed