Phi Theta Kappa induction at Terra State

The Phi Theta Kappa inductees face the audience to thank loved ones for their support.

Sixty-six Terra State Community College students were inducted into membership by the Alpha Mu Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a national two-year college honor society, during a ceremony on April 3 at the Fremont campus.

Cindy Carbone, Regional Coordinator for Phi Theta Kappa Ohio Region and Dean of Arts and Sciences at Central Ohio Technical College, was the keynote speaker.  She focused on two aspects of the organization’s mission statement, leadership and service. “You have come to discover and refine your academic and leadership potential,” Carbone said. “Leadership is an art in perpetual motion.”

She told the new inductees that service comes in many forms, and, as Phi Theta Kappans, they must be ready whenever and wherever to serve. “You have to have that sense of optimism of what can be done,” she said. “When you serve, you lead.”

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among associate degree students who are invited to membership on the basis of scholarly achievement, leadership, citizenship, character and faculty recommendation. To be eligible for membership, a student must have a minimum grade point average of 3.50 and must have completed at least 12 hours of course work. 

Nina Schyllander, Associate Professor in Mathematics at Terra, serves as the chapter’s advisor and Michelle White, Assistant Professor in Mathematics, serves as a co-advisor.

Area students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa on Sunday are:

Graytown-Qiaoping Rohloff and Michelle Ulrich
Gypsum-Britney Lindemann
Lindsey–Jessica Foos and Abbi Hasselbach
Oak Harbor–Annmarie Detray, Cindy Dunfee and Elizabeth Zelms
Port Clinton–Andrea Dlugoleski, Ariel Gresh, Jamie Kennedy, Stacy Nesbitt, Gabriel Reyna, Heather Dilly and John Jadwisiak

Subscribe to this RSS feed