B-C-S Board Organizes for 2014 Featured

The Honorable Frederick “Fritz” Hany, II administers the oaths of office to re-elected B-C-S Board of Education members (left to right) Kim Dusseau, Jamie Tooman, and Jeff Dornbusch during the organization meeting held on Jan. 13.

The Benton-Carroll-Salem Board of Education met on Monday, Jan. 13, for an organizational meeting.  The first order of business was the swearing in of re-elected board members Jeff Dornbusch, Kim Dusseau, and Jamie Tooman.  The Honorable Frederick “Fritz” Hany, II of the Ottawa County Municipal Court was present to administer the oaths of office.  Following the oaths, Judge Hany thanked all Board of Education members for their dedicated service to the community and school district, and highlighted the importance of local government entities like Boards of Education.  

The board then nominated officers for 2014.  The Board nominated Mrs. Jamie Tooman for President of the Board and she was elected by a vote of 5-0.  The Board nominated Mr. Jeff Dornbusch for Vice President of the Board and he was elected by a vote of 5-0.   The Board then established the time, date, and location of regular Board meetings for 2014 as follows: 4th Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the Board of Education Office.

During the organizational meeting, the Board also appointed Mrs. Heather Dewitz to serve as the Legislative Liaison with the Ohio School Boards Association for 2014, and appointed Mrs. Kimberly Dusseau as the Student Achievement Liaison with the Ohio School Boards Association for 2014.  The board also authorized a number of formalities that are required each year during the organizational meeting, including authorizing the superintendent to act as the board’s designee in all student suspension appeals and appointing the treasurer to serve as the public records designee of the Board.

With organizational matters concluded, the board adjourned the organizational meeting and immediately gaveled back into session for its regular January meeting.  Mr. Parmigian highlighted the service of Board of Education members and declared by resolution January 2014 as School Board Recognition Month.  The resolution noted that “serving on a school board requires an unselfish devotion of time and service to carry on the mission and business of the school district.”  Then, following discussion, the board moved to accept Treasurer Tim Coffman’s December 2013 Financial Report.  The December 2013 Financial Report indicated that overall expenditures for the school district are down 1.92% compared to last fiscal year.

In other business, the board accepted the resignation of Sateetha Williams, bus driver, Susan Segaard, technology assistant, and accepted the retirement of Laura Ulery, Spanish teacher at Oak Harbor High School.  The board approved the supplemental contracts and volunteers for spring athletic coaches and the employment of two bus drivers, Cindy Kinsey and Bill Branch, to replace two vacant positions.  Lastly, the Board approved new administrative contracts for Drew Grahl, Director of Athletics and Facilities, Karen Gruber, Principal at R.C. Waters Elementary School, Judy Peters, B-C-S Director of Student Services, Sherry Priesman, Director of Technology and EMIS, and Alison Wolf, Oak Harbor High School Assistant Principal.

The next regular B-C-S Board of Education meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 25, at 6 p.m. at the Board of Education Office.

back to top