FY15 BWC rebate program open to new safety council members

FY15 BWC rebate program open to new safety council members

July 31 is the FY14 enrollment period deadline for new Safety Council members who are interested in qualifying for a rebate of 2% or more on their Workers’ Compensation premiums. The rebate offer excludes self-insuring employers or state agencies. 

Employers must meet all rebate program eligibility requirements to be eligible for any rebate. Employers not in a group-experience or group-retrospective program can earn a 2% participation rebate for meeting eligibility requirements and an additional 2% performance bonus rebate for reducing frequency or severity by 10% or remain at zero. Employers enrolled in a group-experience program qualify only for calculation of the 2% performance bonus rebate. Employers enrolled in a group-retrospective program qualify only for a 2% participation rebate.

For many companies, the 2% or 4% savings will actually outweigh the cost of membership in Safety Council.  To receive a 2% rebate, local companies must meet four criteria:

•Join the Ottawa County Safety Council no later than July 31, 2014

•Send a representative to at least 10 meetings between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015

•Submit two safety reports for the 2014 calendar year

•Have their CEO (or highest-ranking on-site management person) attend one meeting between  July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015

Dues for Ottawa County Safety Council is $120 per year for one representative and includes the cost of meals at the 12 monthly meetings. Meetings always include a 40-45 minute safety-related program. The date of the next meeting is June 18 at 11 a.m. held at Magruder Hospital. Reservations are required.

If you would like to join the Ottawa County Safety Council, or would like more information, please contact Jessica Kowalski at the Ottawa County Improvement Corporation at 419.898.6242 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


back to top