Oak Harbor DECA are District Champs

Oak Harbor DECA are District Champs

On Feb. 4, Oak Harbor DECA members competed at Bowling Green State University in the DECA District 2 Competitions. A total of 38 students represented Oak Harbor DECA and all received awards in their respective contests. The chapter also placed first overall in the District Chapter of Year event. This award is the based on the results of both the DECA fall district contests and this event. The chapter competed with eight other schools including Clay, Fostoria, Maumee, Port Clinton, Rossford, Penta, Perrysburg and Vanguard.

The students competed in a variety of events ranging from individual events that consisted of a test and a role play to team case studies and written promotional plans. Over 200 students participated at this event. 

All Oak Harbor DECA members received awards and the results are as follows: 1st place winners: Austin Wiegand, Ben Cochran, Doug Pennington, Makayla Carpenter, Whitney Rutledge; 2nd place winners: Alex Spangler, Austin Apple, Bryce Buderer, Cody Schultz, Garrett Crum, Katelyn Apple, Mike Hites, Nate Segaard, Nikki Wilhelm, Sam Druivage, Samantha Wilkins, Tate Haar, Zane Troknya; 3rd place winners: AJ Cecil, Brock Evans, Cassie Brenneman, Coral Peterson, Elyse Hablitzel, Eric Buehler, Hannah Glass, Hunter Gresh, Jared Chambers, Kaleb Maguire, Lindsey Reau; 4th place winners: Abbi Riechman, Allyson Michael, Cheyenne Ireland, Chris Tabbert, Dalton Reau, Trinity Gephart; 5th place winners:Aisha Hamdallah, Taylor Blatt, Zach Mills.

The chapter members are now preparing to compete at the Ohio DECA Career Development Conference which will be held in Columbus, on March 16-17.

back to top